Jehnny Beth

Infos & listen
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Infos & listen
STOP |  |  | PREV | NEXT
Jehnny Beth

Jehnny Beth’s career started with Johnny Hostile in 2011 in London, where they founded Pop Noire. Widely con­sid­ered as one of the most pow­er­ful women in inde­pen­dent rock music, Jenny Beth doesn’t hold back.

Front singer in the band Savages, she cham­pi­ons sexual explo­ration and self-empow­er­ment while chal­leng­ing the cliches sur­round­ing what it means to be a woman in a band. In addi­tion to having trav­eled the world with Savages and per­formed on stage with the XX, LCD Soundsystem or Primal Scream, she also worked with artists such as Gorillaz, Julien Casablancas, and Trentemøller.

Since 2016, she has been host­ing her own radio show Start Making Sense’ on Beats 1 invit­ing every week an artist from the inde­pen­dent musi­cal sphere. She is cur­rently work­ing on new projects which we’ll learn more about in 2019.

Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth — Jehnny Beth & Julian Casablancas
2015
Close

Pop Noire is an inde­pen­dent record label based in Paris, founded in 2011 by artists duo Johnny Hostile and Jehnny Beth, and artis­tic direc­tor Antoine Carlier with the desire to develop bespoke projects.
It all started in London with a punk and DIY phi­los­o­phy as the duo John & Jehn was com­pos­ing and record­ing in the base­ment of their home, while the back room was trans­formed into a makeshift office, stocked to the brim with records.

Pop Noire quickly got noticed and estab­lished its uncom­pro­mis­ing rep­u­ta­tion on an inter­na­tional scale with Lescop’s lunar and cap­ti­vat­ing La Forêt’ or Savages’ burn­ing Shut up’.
The projects mainly build around Johnny Hostile and Jehnny Beth, but the house also opens to other artists as the New-Zealand duo A Dead Forest Index.
In 2017, Pop Noire joined forces with pro­duc­tion com­pany Walter Films founder, Xavier Arias. The label explores new aes­thet­ics such as elec­tronic and exper­i­men­tal music, with the sig­na­ture of French young com­poser Cirrial and the release of Johnny Hostile’s ambi­ent debut album.

Pop Noire is an artists’ house which pro­duces and devel­ops projects in line with its iden­tity: inde­pen­dent, rad­i­cal and exploratory.

© 2018 Pop Noire — All rights reserved
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Jehnny Beth

Infos & sorties
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Infos & sorties
STOP |  |  | PREV | NEXT
Jehnny Beth

Jehnny Beth a fondé le label Pop Noire en 2011 aux côtés de Johnny Hostile, avec qui elle a fait ses débuts à Londres. Considérée aujourd’hui comme l’une des femmes les plus puis­santes de la sphère du rock indépen­dant, Jehnny Beth avance sans retenue. 

Chanteuse engagée du groupe Savages, elle défend l’ouverture d’esprit vis-à-vis de la sex­u­al­ité et l’autonomisation, tout en défi­ant les clichés qui gravi­tent autour de la ques­tion fémi­nine. En plus d’avoir par­couru le monde avec Savages et joué sur scène avec the XX, LCD Soundsystem ou Primal Scream, elle a récem­ment tra­vaillé avec des artistes tels que Gorillaz, Julien Casablancas, et Trentemøller.

Depuis 2016, Jehnny Beth anime l’émission de radio Start Making Sense” sur Beats 1 où elle invite chaque semaine un artiste de la sphère musi­cale indépen­dante. Elle tra­vaille actuelle­ment sur de nou­veaux pro­jets qui ver­ront le jour en 2019.

Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth — Jehnny Beth & Julian Casablancas
2015
Fermer

Pop Noire est une maison de pro­duc­tion et d’édition basée à Paris, créée en 2011 par le duo d’artistes Johnny Hostile, Jehnny Beth et le directeur artis­tique Antoine Carlier, avec la volonté de dévelop­per des pro­jets sur mesure.
Tout com­mence à Londres avec une philoso­phie punk DIY, quand le duo John & Jehn com­pose et enreg­istre dans la cave de leur maison, tandis que le salon se trans­forme pro­gres­sive­ment en bureau de for­tune, rempli à cra­quer de dis­ques.

Avec La Forêt’ lunaire et envoû­tante de Lescop ou le brûlant Shut Up’ de Savages, Pop Noire se fait vite remar­quer et établit sa répu­ta­tion sans com­pro­mis à l’échelle inter­na­tionale. Si les pro­jets s’articulent essen­tielle­ment autour de Johnny Hostile et Jehnny Beth, la maison s’ouvre aussi à d’autres artistes comme le duo néo-zélandais A Dead Forest Index. 

En 2017, Pop Noire s’associe à Xavier Arias, fon­da­teur de la maison de pro­duc­tion Walter Films Walter Films. Le label explore de nou­velles esthé­tiques telles que les musique élec­tron­iques et expéri­men­tales, avec la sig­na­ture du jeune com­pos­i­teur Cirrial, et la sortie du pre­mier album ambi­ent de Johnny Hostile. 

Pop Noire se définit comme une maison d’artistes qui pro­duit et développe des pro­jets en phase avec son iden­tité : indépen­dante, rad­i­cale et explo­ratrice.

© 2018 Pop Noire — All rights reserved
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire
Jehnny Beth - © Pop Noire

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.