Johnny Hostile

Infos & listen
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Infos & listen
STOP |  |  | PREV | NEXT
Johnny Hostile

Johnny Hostile is a French com­poser, pro­ducer, musi­cian and founder of Pop Noire. After grad­u­at­ing from the con­ser­va­toire in elec­troa­coustic and musique con­crète fields, he moved to London in 2005 with his part­ner Jehnny Beth where they started the band John & Jehn. Together, they com­posed a series of sound­tracks for Chanel and they founded Pop Noire in 2011 with art direc­tor Antoine Carlier.

Two years later, J. Hostile unveiled his work as a sup­port on Savages’ world tour. In 2015, he invited Julian Casablancas and Jehnny Beth to sing on his cover of Boy/​Girl’, pro­duced sev­eral French artists such as Izia Higelin, Etienne Daho, and also remixed the Quebeckers Essaie Pas (DFA). Since 2016, he has been pro­duc­ing the radio show Start Making Sense’ on Beats 1 hosted by Jehnny Beth, which invites every week an artist from the inde­pen­dent musi­cal sphere.

With his debut album ‘(dys)function’ in 2018, he eman­ci­pated him­self from any genres of music that he had been pro­duc­ing for over a decade. He decided to com­pose the music that had been the center of his life for years: ambi­ent and exper­i­men­tal elec­tronic music. He now lives and works in Paris where Pop Noire stu­dios are based.

Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile — (dys)function
2018
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile — Essaie Pas – Le port du masque est de rigueur (Johnny Hostile Remix)
2016
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile — Jehnny Beth + Julian Casablancas – Boy/Girl (Johnny Hostile Remix)
2015
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile — Johnny Hostile Debut Single
Close

Pop Noire is an inde­pen­dent record label based in Paris, founded in 2011 by artists duo Johnny Hostile and Jehnny Beth, and artis­tic direc­tor Antoine Carlier with the desire to develop bespoke projects.
It all started in London with a punk and DIY phi­los­o­phy as the duo John & Jehn was com­pos­ing and record­ing in the base­ment of their home, while the back room was trans­formed into a makeshift office, stocked to the brim with records.

Pop Noire quickly got noticed and estab­lished its uncom­pro­mis­ing rep­u­ta­tion on an inter­na­tional scale with Lescop’s lunar and cap­ti­vat­ing La Forêt’ or Savages’ burn­ing Shut up’.
The projects mainly build around Johnny Hostile and Jehnny Beth, but the house also opens to other artists as the New-Zealand duo A Dead Forest Index.
In 2017, Pop Noire joined forces with pro­duc­tion com­pany Walter Films founder, Xavier Arias. The label explores new aes­thet­ics such as elec­tronic and exper­i­men­tal music, with the sig­na­ture of French young com­poser Cirrial and the release of Johnny Hostile’s ambi­ent debut album.

Pop Noire is an artists’ house which pro­duces and devel­ops projects in line with its iden­tity: inde­pen­dent, rad­i­cal and exploratory.

© 2018 Pop Noire — All rights reserved
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Johnny Hostile

Infos & sorties
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Infos & sorties
STOP |  |  | PREV | NEXT
Johnny Hostile

Johnny Hostile est à la fois com­pos­i­teur, pro­duc­teur et fon­da­teur de Pop Noire.
Après une for­ma­tion de musique élec­troa­cous­tique et musique con­crète au con­ser­va­toire, il s’installe en 2005 avec sa parte­naire Jehnny Beth à Londres, où naît leur projet John & Jehn. Ensemble, ils com­posent une série de bandes sonores pour Chanel et fondent Pop Noire en 2011 avec le directeur artis­tique et réal­isa­teur Antoine Carlier. 

Deux ans plus tard, J. Hostile dévoile ses pre­mières créa­tions solo à l’occasion de la tournée mon­di­ale de Savages. En 2015, Julian Casablancas et Jehnny Beth inter­prè­tent sa reprise de Boy/​Girl’, pro­duit d’autres artistes français tels qu’Izia Higelin et Etienne Daho, et remixe les québec­quois d’Essaie Pas (DFA). Depuis 2016, il pro­duit l’émission de radio Start Making Sense’ sur Beats 1 présen­tée par Jehnny Beth, qui invite chaque semaine un artiste de la sphère musi­cale indépen­dante.

Pour son pre­mier album ‘(dys)function’ sorti en 2018, J. Hostile s’est éman­cipé de tout genre musi­cal qu’il pro­duit depuis plus d’une décen­nie, pour com­poser la musique qui existe au centre de sa vie depuis quelques années : ambi­ent et expéri­men­tale.

Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile — (dys)function
2018
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile — Essaie Pas – Le port du masque est de rigueur (Johnny Hostile Remix)
2016
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile — Jehnny Beth + Julian Casablancas – Boy/Girl (Johnny Hostile Remix)
2015
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile — Johnny Hostile Debut Single
Fermer

Pop Noire est une maison de pro­duc­tion et d’édition basée à Paris, créée en 2011 par le duo d’artistes Johnny Hostile, Jehnny Beth et le directeur artis­tique Antoine Carlier, avec la volonté de dévelop­per des pro­jets sur mesure.
Tout com­mence à Londres avec une philoso­phie punk DIY, quand le duo John & Jehn com­pose et enreg­istre dans la cave de leur maison, tandis que le salon se trans­forme pro­gres­sive­ment en bureau de for­tune, rempli à cra­quer de dis­ques.

Avec La Forêt’ lunaire et envoû­tante de Lescop ou le brûlant Shut Up’ de Savages, Pop Noire se fait vite remar­quer et établit sa répu­ta­tion sans com­pro­mis à l’échelle inter­na­tionale. Si les pro­jets s’articulent essen­tielle­ment autour de Johnny Hostile et Jehnny Beth, la maison s’ouvre aussi à d’autres artistes comme le duo néo-zélandais A Dead Forest Index. 

En 2017, Pop Noire s’associe à Xavier Arias, fon­da­teur de la maison de pro­duc­tion Walter Films Walter Films. Le label explore de nou­velles esthé­tiques telles que les musique élec­tron­iques et expéri­men­tales, avec la sig­na­ture du jeune com­pos­i­teur Cirrial, et la sortie du pre­mier album ambi­ent de Johnny Hostile. 

Pop Noire se définit comme une maison d’artistes qui pro­duit et développe des pro­jets en phase avec son iden­tité : indépen­dante, rad­i­cale et explo­ratrice.

© 2018 Pop Noire — All rights reserved
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire
Johnny Hostile - © Pop Noire

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.